HDHomerun and IPTV Setup Questions

TVMosaic live and recorded TV products for Desktop/NAS/Raspbery Pi
Post Reply
CockneyBoy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:31 pm

HDHomerun and IPTV Setup Questions

Post by CockneyBoy » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:55 pm

I am new to TVMosaic and have just installed Plus Version with TV Advisor on a Synology.
In principle everything seems to work fine - at least I now have a recorded film on the Synology.

But I have a couple of questions:

1. Can I use a local stored playlist for IPTV, rather than an external URL.
2. Can I access a HDHomeRun Connect which is not in the same net.

I live in Germany, my provider streams IPTV. An official playlist is not available, however a blog site supplies one.
My bandwidth is quite low and I would like to exclude the HD channels and change the sort order. (I know I can use the TVMosaic settings, but I would like the fexibility).

I use a simple DMZ with two routers in cascade. The Synology is in the 'outer' net and the HDHomerun Connect OTA in the 'inner' net.
I have tested with a local server on an 'inner' PC,TVMosaic finds the HDHomerun without a problem and works fine.
Is there a method to access it manually for access over the Synology server.
Thanks

CockneyBoy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: HDHomerun and IPTV Setup Questions

Post by CockneyBoy » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:56 pm

I have sorted myself out. This is just in case it helps another newbie.

I took, out of interest, a look at the folder structure, then found this Wiki entry
https://wiki.tv-mosaic.com/index.php/Wh ... data_files
from which I was able to see that I simply had to put my playlist into the folder scanners/iptv - works perfect.

I tried to see if HDHomerun has something similar, but had no sucess. So I drilled a few holes and laid some cable !!
I would however still be interested if a similar option exists for HdHomerun OTA.

Plantje
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri May 11, 2018 6:53 am

Re: HDHomerun and IPTV Setup Questions

Post by Plantje » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:35 am

I don't think the HD Homeruns will work OTA.

CockneyBoy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:31 pm

Re: HDHomerun and IPTV Setup Questions

Post by CockneyBoy » Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:49 am

@Plantje

Sure, The Expand is for cable only, but the Connect (with 2 or 4 tuners) is purely for OTA only.
And it works just fine with both Kodi (Addon HDHomerun Simple) and TVMosaic.

Post Reply