Compatibility question

TVMosaic is the new King, but if you still have questions about DVBLink - this is the place to ask them.
dschoenfuss

Compatibility question

Post by dschoenfuss » Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:05 am

Hi,
I have been running DVBlink on a QNAP 412 with two PCTV 460e tuners for many years now. I would like to upgrade to TVMosaic and I have the following questions:

- Are my tuners still supported by TV Mosaic?
- I have an active subscription of TV-Advisor. I actually just renewed it this month. Does it work seemlessly with TVMosaic?
- I stream the recordings with my Philips TV using DLNA. Does this work as before?
- Can I expect a performance improvement? DVBlink has always been very, very slow on my NAS.

I would much appreciate a fast answer. I have a few free days and I would like to undertake the upgrade to the new software.

Oberon

Re: Compatibility question

Post by Oberon » Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:57 am

If you are using 460e with qnap then you'd need to stay with dvblink for the nearest future as tvmosaic does not come with tuner drivers on NAS platforms. We are in discussion with NAS manufacturers about including at least some of the drivers into NAS kernel. Until that happens 460e will not work with TVMosaic.
If you still want to upgrade, I see two options - either change NAS to Synology or migrate to a sat2ip network tuner. If you choose the latter, please write an e-mail to our support team, we might have several refurbished of them for a good price.

For the rest of your questions:
- TVAdviser works with TVMosaic the same way as it works with DVBLink. Your recommendation profiles will taken over during license upgrade.
- DLNA works also the same way as in DVBLink
- There will be definitely big performance improvement comparing to DVBLink, both in speed and in memory usage

dschoenfuss

Post by dschoenfuss » Mon Mar 26, 2018 12:21 pm