Page 3 of 3

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:13 am
by Maverickz
Plantje wrote:
Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:19 pm
As far as I can see now: live TV does keep the machine awake, playing recorded TV doesn't.

Strange, because I think both are played through the same TV Mosaic PVR add on in Kodi.
Well at least we are halfway there. I would have thought that the constant use of the network card with the prior settings would have kept it awake.

Maybe if we allowed programs to keep the computer awake could help:
https://mywindowshub.com/turn-ability-a ... indows-10/

Now this change might inadvertently cause it to stay awake too much, if so just turn it back off.

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2019 5:41 pm
by Plantje
Before continuing this, I am first testing the Xiaomi Mi Box S for a different issue. So far it looks nice, but not perfect.

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:26 am
by Maverickz
Just curious, but what's the issue with the Mi Box?

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:18 am
by Plantje
At first I had a pretty hard time connecting the Mi Box to the share on my Windows HTPC where all my movies, pictures, videos and music reside.
I got that out of the way by creating a new user on the Windows machine.

Now I want to use Kodi on that machine like I am used to and how I use it a lot: play some music (either from the HTPC or from Spotify) and play a random slide show from all pictures. If I start that on Kodi, Kodu freezes and basically crashes.
If I do the exact same thing on one of the Windows machines here in the house the slide show starts within seconds.

Apart from that the Mi Box runs just fine and especially the picture in Kodi is instantly nice without a lot of fiddling around. With a Windows client machine a lot of configuration is easier, but in Kodi it is a little bit harder to get a smooth picture that is clear without stuttering

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 6:38 am
by Maverickz
Plantje wrote:
Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:18 am
At first I had a pretty hard time connecting the Mi Box to the share on my Windows HTPC where all my movies, pictures, videos and music reside.
I got that out of the way by creating a new user on the Windows machine.

Now I want to use Kodi on that machine like I am used to and how I use it a lot: play some music (either from the HTPC or from Spotify) and play a random slide show from all pictures. If I start that on Kodi, Kodu freezes and basically crashes.
If I do the exact same thing on one of the Windows machines here in the house the slide show starts within seconds.

Apart from that the Mi Box runs just fine and especially the picture in Kodi is instantly nice without a lot of fiddling around. With a Windows client machine a lot of configuration is easier, but in Kodi it is a little bit harder to get a smooth picture that is clear without stuttering
So when you connected the Mi Box to the Windows share did you do this in Kodi on the Mi Box or in the Mi Box settings? I have found it easier to just do this in Kodi.

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 7:42 am
by Plantje
I wasn't aware of this being possible in the Mi Box :) So, I just did it from Kodi.

This morning my daughter started some YouTube videos and the sound was very glitchy. Restarted the device, then after booting up it didn't respond to the remote. Pulled the power plug and then it worked again. That sort of stuff... If that is the case, I can better just use Windows. People complain about Windows not being stable and you need to restart every so often, but so far this Android box hasn't treated me a lot better.

And actually, that brings me back to why I started this topic :) The Mi Box will most likely at some point go to the bedroom to replace the Meegopad Windows client that I have there (that starts buffering a lot in Kodi towards midnight on a regular basis). In the bedroom TV I never use Kodi to play a slide show of pictures, so there this one should be sufficient.
Then I will reinstall my current HTPC (bought it with Windows 7 and haven't done a full refresh ever since), add the HDHomerun Expand and not use the HD Homerun dual tuners and Floppy DTV tuners. In the longer run I can then as well just entirely replace that back end machine. For now it is fine.

And for the front end in the living room, I think I will buy a new light weight Windows device. And that is where I'm still in doubt. I like to watch Formula 1 for example and with that and another Dutch show I recently noticed lines on the screen. Like there is no clear picture, but the picture itself is made up of a lot of horizontal lines. I saw that in both Kodi and in TV Mosaic and it occurs mostly with speedy stuff on the screen. So, like a Formula 1 match or a ticker in the bottom of the screen.
And on the current HTPC every once in a while when I play a recorded show it slightly stutters every 10 seconds or so. Let's see what happens if I have a dedicated Windows client. Then I can start investigating CPUs and configurations again :) Some core ix machine seems way too heavy.

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:25 am
by Maverickz
Plantje wrote:
Sun Feb 17, 2019 7:42 am
I wasn't aware of this being possible in the Mi Box :) So, I just did it from Kodi.

This morning my daughter started some YouTube videos and the sound was very glitchy. Restarted the device, then after booting up it didn't respond to the remote. Pulled the power plug and then it worked again. That sort of stuff... If that is the case, I can better just use Windows. People complain about Windows not being stable and you need to restart every so often, but so far this Android box hasn't treated me a lot better.

And actually, that brings me back to why I started this topic :) The Mi Box will most likely at some point go to the bedroom to replace the Meegopad Windows client that I have there (that starts buffering a lot in Kodi towards midnight on a regular basis). In the bedroom TV I never use Kodi to play a slide show of pictures, so there this one should be sufficient.
Then I will reinstall my current HTPC (bought it with Windows 7 and haven't done a full refresh ever since), add the HDHomerun Expand and not use the HD Homerun dual tuners and Floppy DTV tuners. In the longer run I can then as well just entirely replace that back end machine. For now it is fine.

And for the front end in the living room, I think I will buy a new light weight Windows device. And that is where I'm still in doubt. I like to watch Formula 1 for example and with that and another Dutch show I recently noticed lines on the screen. Like there is no clear picture, but the picture itself is made up of a lot of horizontal lines. I saw that in both Kodi and in TV Mosaic and it occurs mostly with speedy stuff on the screen. So, like a Formula 1 match or a ticker in the bottom of the screen.
And on the current HTPC every once in a while when I play a recorded show it slightly stutters every 10 seconds or so. Let's see what happens if I have a dedicated Windows client. Then I can start investigating CPUs and configurations again :) Some core ix machine seems way too heavy.
I would probably factory reset that box, sometimes that can fix minor glitches. If not and it's under warranty I would reset it and get it replaced.

Those horizontal lines are interlacing that all broadcasters (at least all I know of) use. Use the TVM client to watch live shows and it will clear that up. There is some setting in Kodi to do that to, but since I use TVM client I am not sure where it is. You may need to check the Kodi forums.

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 8:39 am
by Plantje
I really appreciate you thinking along!

I think if I remove the link to the pictures on the HTPC the box will not be pushed to the limits as much. That ought to clear up those issues. For the bedroom Netflix and Kodi (or TV Mosaic) for watching live and recorded TV is sufficient.

As for the interlacing (I had a suspicion that was what I was seeing): that only happens on the current HTPC running on Windows. (Perhaps also some other Windows machines here in the household, but I haven't really worked on those settings) I did notice that in TV Mosaic as well, but haven't tested the most recent version of the app yet. So perhaps it is solved.
Anyway, I think a good Windows box should solve my issues there. And when I am comparing Windows and Android TV, I think a Windows client will suit my needs better. But I am definitely convinced that I need a server machine and a client machine.

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:33 am
by Maverickz
No problem, happy to help.

It sounds now at least you know what you need. Good luck.

Re: New HTCP setup

Posted: Sun Feb 17, 2019 12:00 pm
by Plantje
Thanks :)