(Closed) Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post here your ideas on how to make TVMosaic product better
muppets4
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by muppets4 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:23 pm

GPU activity is there now (25% when showing a FHD channel), so there must be something done?

Oberon
Posts: 1128
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:45 am

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by Oberon » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:27 pm

muppets4 wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:23 pm
GPU activity is there now (25% when showing a FHD channel), so there must be something done?
You are not talking about transcoded playback, right?

We have experimented with the new player build and settings. Afterwards, it appeared that there are issues, which require considerably more time. So we rolled back changes in archive before the release. It may be that something was left, which causes the effect that you see. We will double check as I am getting curious;)

muppets4
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by muppets4 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:47 pm

No transcoded playback. Using wired mini PC for it.

rbueeler
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:19 pm

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by rbueeler » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:25 pm

So in my side I do not see any improvement in this area with latest version from today. Neither there is any visual improvement nor I see that GPU decoder is used in the Windows Task Manager. Only GPU 3D ressource is used heavily (not sure it has changed), but this is nothing what affects the video quality.

muppets4
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by muppets4 » Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:50 pm

I was mistaken. No GPU involved. What I saw was probably the interface getting rendered in 3d. Pity!

Oberon
Posts: 1128
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:45 am

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by Oberon » Tue Sep 11, 2018 9:58 am

Build 16582 on Windows should fix the issue:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=139

muppets4
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by muppets4 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 10:00 am

Not at home at the moment, but anxious to try!

muppets4
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 9:12 pm

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by muppets4 » Tue Sep 11, 2018 4:14 pm

Updated both my client and server and I have to say that this is a great update. 25-40% CPU power on an i5-7200u, where before it was 80-100%. Just earlier this week I was looking to upgrade to a more powerfull machine. Glad I waited some, because now I can use it for many years to come. Thank you!

Montoya
Posts: 162
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:07 am

Re: Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by Montoya » Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:40 pm

Indeed excellent work, finally we can see some Video Decoding done by the GPU, which offloads the CPU :D
DVBLink server 6.0.0 build14499, DVBLink TVSource 6.0.0 build14061, DVBLink for IPTV build 13107
TVMosaic server build 16899, Kodi 18.0-BETA3 Git:20180910-65fee74469, Win10 Pro x64 1809 build17763.55

rbueeler
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:19 pm

Re: (Closed) Improve video decoder on Windows client

Post by rbueeler » Tue Sep 11, 2018 5:48 pm

Also for me it is much improved now (using Intel i7 8700 CPU). Even de-interlacing seems to be done in HW now. Thanks a lot for your efforts!

Could you remove the grey border around the picture (at left/right/bottom side) in full screen mode? I guess it is some artifact of the GUI which is not hidden properly.
Also when changing from full screen to the "GUI less" mode, I see some grey rectangle on the screen at the place where the window was before full screen mode. (size of "GUI less" mode is modified after full screen mode)

Post Reply